Jaslene Gonzalez unleashes powerful alter ego on modeling shoots

Publié le par shoxshoes

I grew up on a stage. I started dancing at the age of four and soon after started a singing and dancing group with my aunts, uncles, cousins, friends and some kids from my neighborhood.

We were called Viva La Gente, meaning “up with people.” We traveled to many different local communities, performing in major festivals, on stages and even for celebrities. We had an annual concert, with a lot of costume changes. I’ll never forget setting up my wardrobe of sequined dresses, ruffled mambo skirts, body suits, tap shoes, heels, shiny jewelry and even fake hair (of course, it was a mess by the time I hit the stage). I like to think I was an irresistible performer. It felt like my first brush of stardom.

After 12 years as a trained dancer, one day I traded in my dancing shoes for six-inch, designer stilettos as a model. It was my new dream, and I decided to chase it. Determined and patient, I ignored every setback and eventually made it to the auditions for America’s Next Top Model. I had to face three fierce judges (not to mention the rest of the world), and I walked in knowing I had to get their attention. My plan: to return to my dancing roots. After a few salsa steps, a few poses and a fierce walk, I made my exit. One of the judges, Miss Jay, called me Cha Cha Diva, and right then, she became my alter ego. Cha Cha took me through the show, and I won!

Cha Cha Diva has continued to serve me well in my modeling, which I’ve discovered is actually like a form of dancing. You need rhythm and movement and I like to integrate dance moves into my modeling. Now, there have definitely been times when I’ve overdone it, gotten too animated and crazy haired, bordered on being drag queen-like. In those moments, I’ve had to question whether I needed to take Cha Cha down a notch. Although most people respond so well to her, she is not your classic beauty.

Cha Cha Diva’s tall, slim body, razor-sharp cheekbones, sometimes-masculine look, and wild, run-like-the-wind, party-like-a-rock-star personality sometimes overshadow my potential as a model.

These days, I know when to unleash Cha Cha and when I should be softer, more natural and less out-there. I’ve found a good balance, but I’ll always be proud of Cha Cha Diva. She never gives up, she always stands up for herself, she’s full of spice and she can deliver a fierce photo! I’m glad she’s part of me!

Publié dans shoes

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article